Pretty Green Mani

Did you know most nail polish is not vegan? I didn’t, until I saw this line of nail polish by SpaRitual advertising itself as vegan and free of DBP, formaldehyde and toluene. Now, I’m not vegan (this green girl has gotta have her yogurt, cheese and ice cream), but it’s good to know for those who are trying to eliminate all animal products.

sparitual-laquers1

Wikipedia says all nail polishes have been rid of DBF since 2006, so that’s not really an issue, but it’s still great to see a company dedicated to sustainability and eliminating toxic materials. According to the website:

SpaRitual is committed to creating eco-friendly products and packaging perfectly crafted for the enlightened consumer. We use Vegan ingredients from around the world, including many specially sourced and selected plant essences that are wildcrafted OR organic. The formulations are naturally colored and free of synthetic dyes. SpaRitual is constantly monitoring sustainability issues and strives to be on the cutting edge of environmental awareness…. In addition, our bottle is crafted in Italy from reusable glass with up to 50% recycled materials and is recyclable with proper care.

Gotta love that.

Anyway, I picked up Days of Wine and Roses (oh, how I wish that is what my days were actually filled with!) and it’s super cute. A nice dark purple with hints of sparkle. I found it at a cute beauty supply store in my stepsister’s neighborhood, which is sadly going out of business. Remember: support your local business if you want them to stick around! Anyway, it’s MadKat in North Beach for any SF locals, and all their products are 30% off until they close at the end of the month. They also have a few eco-friendly haircare lines, in addition to this nail polish.

Now I know the most eco-friendly thing to do would be to skip nail polish all together. But I love my pedis, and a nice manicure can really pull together a cute outfit, so this is a great option for the pretty green girl in all of us!

Tell me: What’s your favorite “green” beauty product?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Pretty Green Mani

  1. Cool post! That’s interesting that nail polish isn’t “vegan.” Who knew?

    I’ll be honest, cleaning and beauty products is one area where I could really “green myself up.” I can’t think of a single green beauty product that I use (how terrible!), but I’d really like to start. Care to share a few of your favorite brands, besides the nail polish?

  2. janeterin

    I know, it surprised me, too!

    That’s a great idea, to share my fave brands, though! I think I’ll do a Beauty Products Roundup soon with my faves. It can be hard to transition, and find products that do an equally good job as conventional products, so I’ll scour my cabinets and see what I have to share! šŸ˜€

  3. ally

    Thanks for the info on MadKat! I like organix hair stuff- smells yummy too. Tea tree oil is always good for a bunch of stuff. Good news on the marathon. Best of Luck:)

  4. Have you heard of Tierra Mia Organic Nail Spa in Philadelphia? They are are true pioneers in organic nail care using only water-based nail polishes and certified organic base-coat. Leading the nail industry for non-toxic standards in a completely eco-friendly environment. Tierra Mia is reinventing the traditional nail salon. Check out: http://www.TierraMiaOrganicNailSpa.com http://www.TierraMiaOrganicNailPress.wordpress.com
    Regards,
    Justin

  5. Tierra Mia Organic Nail Spa in Philadelphia are pioneers in organic nail care using only water-based nail polishes and certified organic base-coat. Tierra Mia is reinventing the traditional nail salon. Check out: http://www.TierraMiaOrganicNailSpa.com http://www.TierraMiaOrganicNailPress.wordpress.com
    Regards,
    Justin

Leave a comment