Here It Goes Again

Oh man, I just found out I got a spot in the Nike Women’s Half Marathon. I didn’t get the official notification yet, but they charged my card, so I guess I’m in! I’m excited for the challange, and the Mile-of-Chocolate and all, but man… does this mean I have to train again? 😉 At least it’s not until October! I totally didn’t think I’d get picked.

smu_banner_b

Actually, this will give me a great opportunity to be greener. I’ve been sticking to the treadmill lately (bad green girl!), but this will spur me to do more outside runs. I have an easier time doing speed work on the treadmill, but I’ll push myself to work on this outside. Anyone have any tips for outdoor speed work? I’m thinking I’ll pick some landmarks to sprint between!

By the way, my title was inspired both by the fact that I’m going to have to start training for another half (I did 2 last year, despite not being able to run 5 miles straight last January!) and the best running/sprinting song ever. Also, another green thing that I’ve been meaning to post about – I still have the same iPod mini I’ve had for 4-5 years. It works great, though I had to get a new battery once. Keeping what you already have instead of buying new stuff – totally green!

While we’re talking running, here’s a pic of me and some friends doing a Mock 5K last year. A friend’s friend was in a coma, and they organized a 5K in LA, so we were the honorary SF chapter! I’m in all black. Way cuter than any of my official race photos, anyway! 🙂 Those are always the worst, agreed?

5k

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Here It Goes Again

  1. yay that’s awesome! congrats. it looks like a super fun race to do; i hope to get to do it some time. plus SF is fantastic.

    i did outdoor speedwork today! measured out 400m over a few blocks and did my repeats back and forth on the sidewalk. it was way better than the dreadmill.

  2. congrats on the spot!! that’ll be awesome! Isn’t it crazy to think how you went from running 3 miles to 13?! such a feeling of accomplishment!\

    and yes. race photos aare aw-ful

  3. janeterin

    Thanks for the support, guys! Haya, I will try doing that myself for outdoor speedwork – thanks! And SF is def one of the most beautiful places to run, for sure!

    RHYD (hehe) – it definitely is a feeling of accomplishment. I honestly didn’t think I’d get into this one so right now I’m kind of like ahh, I have to train again, but I know I’ll be happy that I did it!

  4. Congratulations on getting in to Nike! I can’t do it this year b/c I have a wedding on Saturday night (= definitely no running early Sunday morning). Last year I did the full and it was quite an adventure.

    Speedwork, I think, is critical to getting faster. I do track workouts on Tuesdays at Kezar with SF Tri Club, SF Road Runner Club also does track, as do a few other clubs. You may want to find a group to join – speedwork is a lot more fun with other folks who are running at your pace!

  5. janeterin

    Thanks, Kirby! I can’t believe you did the full – that’s amazing!! I’m not sure if I could ever do a full, but hey, never say never.

    Joining a group is such a good idea. I never would have thought of that! I used to run at Kezar a little bit with some friends, and was always impressed by all the super amazing runners. Off to do some research. Thank you!

  6. YAY!! I can’t wait for Nike Women’s-its going to be so great!! When you think we’ll get the actual confirmation email????? They charged my card and signmeup.com says congratulations-so i better be in! I can’t wait to start training for real! And for the tiffany’s necklace!
    Can’t wait to compare training notes!

  7. janeterin

    Woohoo! I’m really excited the more I think about it. Although signmeup doesn’t seem to have my info in the “what is this charge?” section, but I was charged so I’m still assuming I’m in. I want the real confirmation, too!

    I actually might be coming out to Boston sometime this year to visit friends – we should totally go on a training run! Went for somewhere between 6-7 today (my Sport Band was all messed up) so I’m glad to know I can still run because I haven’t trained since my last half in October!

  8. Hi PGG,
    Thanks for posting this. You prompted me to look at my online statement, and I see a charge too. I hope Nike doesn’t disappoint any of us!

Leave a Reply

