Tulips in Bloom

As long as I’ve lived in San Francisco, I’ve wanted to visit the Queen Wilhelmina Tulip Garden while the tulips were in bloom. I once even lived a mere 10-minute walk away, and I never made it at exactly the right time of year. For shame! The garden, with its Dutch Windmill, is one of my favorite spots in the city, and while there are beautiful flowers year round, the garden’s namesake bloom is my all-time favorite. To ensure I’d get there this year, I put it on my 30 before 30 List.

I’m so glad I did.

The Queen Wilhelmina Garden is located at the very edge of Golden Gate Park, almost at the ocean, and right near the Beach Chalet. San Franciscans, I highly recommend you get there ASAP, as I can’t imagine the tulips will be around much longer. While you’re in the area, have a mimosa on the back lawn at the Park Chalet, and watch the little kids running around kicking soccer balls. Take a stroll by the beach. Maybe even bring a book and a blanket and make yourself at home with Queen W. With this weather we’ve been having, I can’t imagine a lovelier day.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Tulips in Bloom

  1. Pingback: 30 Before 30 « pretty green girl

  2. So, so pretty! As we’re in the midst of a dark, rainy day today – these sunlit flowers have given me a smile. Congrats on knocking such a pretty item off your list, Janet! 🙂

  3. Hello Pretty Green Girl. I like your green blog header and those beautiful tulips are gorgeous.

    Nisrine

  4. Wow, hadn’t ever even heard of this place….although I vaguely remember jogging by when I was training for the SF marathon about a year ago. I will say though that I’d much rather be sipping a mimosa and walking amongst tulips. Love the white ones especially!

Leave a Reply

