Put a Cork in It

It being your compost bin.

IMG_0922

I moved a few weeks ago, and as I was cleaning out my drawers, I found a ton of corks. Not sure what I was saving them for, but after a little research, I realized they are totally compostable! Since cork is made of tree bark, it’s perfectly ok to throw it in your green bin (if you have one – man, I love San Francisco!) or compost pile. Pretty cool, right?

While you’re at it, check out this list 11 Unusual Things You Can Compost. While recycling is much better than throwing things in the garbage, most of what we recycle gets sent overseas. Composting your paper towels, egg cartons and cotton swabs is a great solution. If you don’t want to start your own compost pile (totally understandable!), check with your city to see if they have a municipal composting program, or contact your local officials and say you want one!

I heart wine.
IMG_0926

Do you compost? Would you like to if you could? Do you have any questions about composting for my sister, a gardening/composting expert?

4 Comments

Filed under Pretty Green Tip of the Day, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Put a Cork in It

  1. I would SO compost but I’m not sure how to go about it since I live in a condo with a small kitchen and nothng but a balcony and a few houseplants. I’m not sure what to do with my compost, and I guess I’m afraid of my dog knocking something over and there being worms everywhere…but I love love love the idea and concept behind it!

  2. Do I compost? hell yeah! big huge piles of it 🙂 Alaska Master Gardener here! I love to spread the word about composting, it’s so awesome! Did you know chemical fertilizer burns off the root hairs of plant? And compost builds them up so they can absorb more from the soil! Can’t use both together though!

    I am coming in on Thursday before blogher and plan to spend the day being touristy and drinking coffee probably ride the f-line around and I want to take some lox to the foodbuzz office too

  3. marla

    Have you seen the amazing corkboard/bulletin boards people make out of saved corks?They are awesome,but would take a while to save enough corks up…or some happy vino times in the meantime?!!

  4. Christy

    My sister made a cork board but to speed up the process she asked all her friends to save their corks for her. Took no time at all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

