A “Grate” Idea (In Theory)

On my to-do list the other night: baking a batch of my favorite chocolate “crinkle” cookies to take in to work. I had all the ingredients in stock, or so I thought. I had almost exactly enough sugar, but unfortunately a bunch of it had hardened into large chunks (chunk is like my least favorite word. Why did I use it? Twice, now. Anyway). Instead of running to the store to buy a new box, I Googled and came across a suggestion to grate it. I seriously said out loud, “that’s a great idea” and then cracked up. Get it…”grate” idea? Yeah, I’m a geek for puns, I guess. 😉

IMG_0903
Spy the vanilla bought in bulk in the background?

Anyway, my “grate” idea didn’t turn out to be so terrific in the end, but it was worth a shot. Instead of wasting the leftover sugar chunks (ack! I need a better word! Clump does not, in any way, sound better), I decided to save them and cut them into cubes to use for coffee and tea. Just a little reminder to myself (and to you, hopefully!) that there’s no reason to waste something when you can find a way to use it. I must admit, though, I am using regular cane sugar, not organic, and feel guilty about it. I’ve tried baking with organic sugar before, and it honestly wasn’t the same – cookies came out flat, and things tasted a bit “off.” The kind I used last time was bought in bulk and was a slightly yellow color, so I definitely need to do some research for a better organic sugar that behaves in a similar manner to the cane sugar I’m used to using. Any suggestions?

Oh, and if you’re interested, here’s the cookie recipe. These cookies are awesome – always a huge hit at parties and with my coworkers. Halfway between a brownie and a cookie, they are slightly chewy and perfectly chocolatey. I particularly like using Lake Champlain organic, fair trade cocoa powder. I don’t see it listed separately on their site, but I buy it at my favorite co-op. Incidentally, I hope to visit Lake Champlain and it’s chocolate factory on my potential trip to New England next month!

Chocolate Brownie Cookies, adapted from All Recipes

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cups white sugar
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
Dash teaspoon salt
Confectioners’ sugar

In a medium bowl, mix together cocoa, sugar, and oil. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla.

Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt; stir into the cocoa mixture. Cover dough, and place in freezer for one hour.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or Silpat pad. Roll dough into one inch balls and roll each ball in confectioners’ sugar before placing onto cookie sheets.

Bake in preheated oven for 10 to 12 minutes. Let cookies cool and then place on wire racks or plates. Enjoy!

IMG_0913

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “A “Grate” Idea (In Theory)

  1. These are so Yummy!!! Thanks for making them and bringing them to work. You are so sweet!!!

  2. Sara

    Hi Janet! (this is Sophie’s friend Sara!) I like your blog! In the past (when I had a microwave!) I would put big sugar clumps in the microwave for a second and the sugar would become use-able again. =) Mostly used to happen to my brown sugar, but might work for white too.

  3. janeterin

    Thanks for the idea, Sara! I tried it briefly but was afraid the sugar was gonna explode in my microwave, hehe. I’ll try it again next time, though, and let you know what happens!

Leave a Reply

