Buy Fresh, Buy Local, Buy Organic

Articles like this one, “Organic food is no healthier,” frustrate me. The gist – “Our review indicates that there is currently no evidence to support the selection of organically over conventionally produced foods on the basis of nutritional superiority.”

Ok, maybe organic produce is not “healthier” in terms of actual nutritional content, but what about taste? What about those chemical pesticides you’re ingesting? What about the environmental impact of those pesticides and chemicals? What about supporting your local farmers? If “healthy” was only about “nutritional content,” couldn’t we all just take a vitamin-packed food pill and go on our way?

I’d also like to know how fresh the food used in this study was. We all know the fresher your produce is, the more nutrients it retains. And the best way to get fresh produce? Head to the Farmers Market, and chat up your local farmer. Produce doesn’t have to be “certified organic” to be pesticide-free. Ask! Talk to your farmers or the person in charge of produce to your grocery store.

Articles like this bug me, because I feel like people use them as an excuse to not buy organic or local foods, because they’re “expensive” and “not even better for you.” Call me paranoid, but I can’t imagine how ingesting chemically-coated produce is healthy for your body. Isn’t the “expense” worth it?

Besides, being healthy is about more than just magnesium, iron or vitamin C – it’s about the delicious food on your plate, the person who grew it, how it tastes, and how it makes you feel. Compare an organic, local heirloom tomato or farm-fresh peach with their conventional store-bought counterparts and you’ll know exactly what I mean.

buy fresh buy local
And buy organic!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Buy Fresh, Buy Local, Buy Organic

  1. Amen, sister!

    There is nothing better than tasting an amazing organic and/or local fruit or veggie. I think I have become a produce snob as of late, but there really is no comparison!

    And shopping at farmers markets just make happy. I went this morning and got peaches, plums, broccoli, peppers and lettuce and practically bounced down the street with my bags 🙂

  2. You know i’m not that green, but try when i remember. =) I have to agree that food grown in your own backyard or fresh from the farmers market tastes so much better then what I find at safeway. Especially the fruit. Like the cherries I brought to work, I’ve never tasted a cherry that good. They even looked wonderful!! I’m usually alergic to cherries but I love them and I had no reaction from eating the ones from my neighbors tree.

  3. Great post!
    I completely agree. Even if they contain no more Vitamin C or Potassium than conventional foods, Organic always wins, just because it doesn’t have toxins!! And Local is even better. There is so much more to food than just the individual nutrients (although they are important). Cheap food isn’t cheap when you look at all the corners that are being cut and future/current degradation of land, and health.
    Go organic! and get to know who grows your food!

  4. Meow! I love it. Speak the truth, sister. Great post.

  5. TRUTH! There are no other words needed, really. I’m hitting up a new local/organic produce store tomorrow to check it out – hopefully he’ll have some nice stuff!

  6. I’m still in awe of how anyone could say organic isn’t healthier!?!?

  7. I mean – that argument just boggles my mind. Yes, the nutrition content might not have changed – but you are so right – HELLO – pesticides?

  8. Hilarie

    Michael Pollan does a wonderful overview of what he refers to as “the Rise of Nutritionalism” in his In Defense of Food” (excerpted in the article at http://www.michaelpollan.com/article.php?id=87)

    Nutritionism = “the widely shared but unexamined assumption is that the key to understanding food is indeed the nutrient. From this basic premise flow several others. Since nutrients, as compared with foods, are invisible and therefore slightly mysterious, it falls to the scientists to explain the hidden reality of foods to us.”

    One big problem w/ nutritionism (according to Marion Nestle, NYU,) is ”is that it takes the nutrient out of the context of food, the food out of the context of diet and the diet out of the context of lifestyle.”

    We get a gift of the UC Berkeley Wellness Letter “practical advise on how to stay healthy via nutrition and excercise.” I hate it. They are also nutritionists who compartmentalize foods and declare that there is no “significant benefit” to eating organics.

    Sell outs!

    How did we give up the understanding that WHOLE FOODS are important!?
    (Not individual components of foods.)
    Did we let politics and science convince us otherwise and is this a last gasp of the old guard clinging to their hold on influencing food purchase & production?

    Spread the word!
    Local / organic / biodynamic !

  9. Every time I buy organic I consider it a political vote. I want to support farmers and businesses using smart growing practices. Period! 🙂

  10. I totally agree! This sort of thing is just misleading people.

  11. You’ve been tagged!!

    Check out my blog, to find out what it means!! Thanks for helping me make my life a little more green!

Leave a Reply

