Greener Pastures

Is it just me, or does everyone seem totally stressed out lately? A bunch of my friends are dealing with some complicated stuff, and it seems like a lot of other bloggers are also not feeling like their usual perky selves. I know I’ve been pretty stressed out myself, for a variety of reasons, hence the infrequent posts lately.

Inspired by Hallie’s post, I’ve decided to try to focus on the positive, instead of getting weighed down by what’s been stressing me out. So here’s a list of the things I’m totally thankful for and happy about right now!

The fact that my boss lets me work from home when I want/need to.
I do have to commute to work (which I feel horribly hippie-critical about) and feel really lucky to have the flexibility to occasionally reduce my carbon footprint by commuting to my kitchen table or local coffee shop. And I’m not even sucking up because I’m working from home today, I swear!

Summer produce
Berries, squash, peaches, nectarines, and my favorite, watermelon! The Farmers Markets are bursting with bright colors and flavors right now, and I can’t wait to check out a new one in my friend’s neighborhood this weekend.

My sister’s impending move to the City
She’s going to be able to sell her car, and walk to one of her jobs, at a really cool organization called My Farm SF, which I plan to dedicate a separate post to in the future. Pretty Green Sister is my eco role model and I’m excited about having her close enough for more frequent ice cream (the girl is obsessed!) dates and Scrabble matches.

My roommate’s wedding
I love weddings! I’ve been lucky enough to attend the weddings of two close friends this year so far, and can’t wait to see Jaime & Chris exchange vows next month.

Potlucks with friends
I have a standing Tuesday date with two of my girlfriends – we alternate themed potlucks with going out for dishes on the Big Eat SF: 100 List. Though I’ve actually missed all the Big Eat dates so far, the potlucks have been awesome. Last night we feasted on chicken tortilla soup (topped with mozzarella, avocado, cilantro and perfectly greasy and salty homemade fried tortilla strips), mango cucumber salsa, bean dip, Mexican cornbread, Food Should Taste Good Yellow Corn chips, and Handley Chardonnay. What a fiesta! My friends have a special way of cheering me up, and I don’t know what I’d do without them!

earth smile
Is this picture cute or creepy? I can’t decide!

Have you been stressed out lately? What’s cheering you up?

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Greener Pastures

  1. I so appreciate this post! I can’t speak for everyone, but the economy’s really got me down 😦 Thanks for bringing some positivity into the blogosphere today!

  2. Great list of positives! You are blessed 🙂

  3. Hey, thanks for the shout-out! Making the list helped, even though I’m still Miss Cranky Pants, haha. I was stressing out planning a trip to the Grand Canyon but I just booked our campsite so no more being wishy-washy, we are GOING! And I found out my brother, who I basically talked into following his dreams and moving to Washington DC with no money to try to get a job out there, got a paid internship. So those are two good things in my world…and both happened today!

  4. It’s creepy and cute. Kinda of like when you taste something wierd and at first it’s gross, but you can’t help to take another bite because it’s good and gross at the same time. Yeah, you know what I mean?

    I’m happy to see your trying to find the positives, sometimes all it takes is to smile and you’ll feel better. Or some cute funny movie like 27 dresses.

  5. I think it’s cute- and I agree with Lisa- 27 Dresses is a cure-all!

  6. And thanks for looking forward to our wedding! I am looking forward to sharing it with you.

  7. great post!
    things that make me happy:
    1. fresh fruit and produce that’s local AND organic!
    2. that i am healthy and able to run and eat and breathe every day!
    3. for wonderful friends and a great job
    .4. for a supportive family
    5. that i live in a country of such ABUNDANCE!!! we have so much! i’m not living in a hut in a third world country, trying to feed a family on $1 a day.
    Im really trying to work on being positive!
    thanks for the post!

  8. Now that you mention it…I HAVE been pretty stressed out! This is my last weekend at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition and all the traveling back and forth to NYC has been whipping my butt.

    Time for a pedicure and margarita when this is done 🙂

  9. Jen

    Now, what should our next potluck be themed? Think Sophie will be tired of Thai food?

Leave a Reply

