What’s Fresh in Your Area

I’m sorry guys, I am like 12 years old, but this title totally sounds like an ad for Summer’s Eve, no? πŸ˜‰

Via Twitter (thanks for the RT that caught my attention, Foodzie), I found this really cool interactive map, where you can find out what’s seasonal and fresh where you live. Apparently okra is in season in CA right now… who knew? I don’t think I’ve ever had it, with the exception of a gumbo in New Orleans. Anyway, you can search for seasonal produce by state and month – check out what’s in season now where you live!

Thanks, Epicurious – very cool!

seasonal mpa
Peak-Season Map

PS: A guy totally asked me if I worked on a farm yesterday! I’m like, I know my jeans are torn, but really, I thought that was trendy. πŸ˜‰ Turns out it was because I have a Buy Fresh, Buy Local sticker on my computer. I was like, nope, I’m just into that stuff. I have a green blog. Cue blank expression. Ha.

What’s in season where you live? What are you most looking forward to being in season?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “What’s Fresh in Your Area

  1. what a great site!! thanks for sharing!!!

  2. Geez, I don’t even know what’s in season. What I do look forward to though is peach season. I love peaches!

  3. Coco

    The okra at Dosa is AMAZING, you should try it!

  4. Marija

    Hi there! Your site looks amazing! Thanks for sharing all this info (and keep on posting).

    Best,

    Marija

    p.s. If there are single vegans and vegetarians out there – a few of my friends recently launched a veggie-lovers dating website, Check it out: http://www.singlevegetarians.com/

  5. janeterin

    Thanks, Elizabeth!

    Mmm, peaches – I agree, Trish!

    Coco, I def. want to try that! I need to go to the new Dosa!

    Marija – thanks so much for the blog compliment! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

