Neighborhood Fruit

Greetings, friends! I’m off celebrating my friend’s wedding, so I scheduled this post in advance!

neighborhood fruit

My coworker sent me this awesome article this week about a website called Neighborhood Fruit. Neighborhood Fruit connects people with fruit trees with their neighbors who want to eat said fruit! Talk about eating local! Users are currently able to register their trees and find public trees in their area, and will soon be able to search to find neighbors with available fruit. I’ve already found a few nearby fig trees and cherry plums that I will definitely be checking out!

As the article mentioned, it’s still in beta, but I’ve registered and will definitely be keeping my eye on the site. What a great idea!

neighborhood fruit 2

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Neighborhood Fruit

  1. What a cool concept! I can think of plenty of neighbors growing up who would have loved to have visited our kumquat tree…

  2. That’s so cool! Do you have to have a tree or grow fruit to be a part of it? Because I would love to take from others but I don’t have anything to give LOL 🙂 I’m going to go check it out now, thanks for posting!

  3. janeterin

    You know, I don’t think you do! I think the public trees are available to anyone (from what I gather – ha, no pun intended) and that people with their own trees will be able to accept a small fee in exchange for their fruit. Pretty cool! I definitely will keep my eye on this site as it gets more developed!

  4. Okay, that is like the coolest thing ever. Thanks for the heads up!

  5. janeterin

    Awesome! I think it’s pretty cool, too! 😀

  6. Hi Janet – I went to business school with the founders of this great company – let me know if you’d like to interview them on your blog or have any other questions for them. 🙂

  7. KarenCassidy

    Here’s a link that maps out available fruit in some other cities

    http://www.fallenfruit.org/maps.html

  8. Pingback: Eat (and Trade) Your Veggies! « pretty green girl

Leave a Reply

