The Wine Flu

My apologies for not posting for the past few days! I’ve been suffering from the Wine Flu, which is not exactly a hangover, but more like the several day fog one is left in after visiting 11 wineries (drinking at 9) in one day. Believe it or not, I actually didn’t really have a hangover – we honestly didn’t drink THAT much. Ok, we drank a lot, but I feel like saying we went to 9 wineries sounds crazier than it actually was. But between that and the motion sickness pill I took for the drive back, I’ve been in a serious daze for days. I finally feel clear-headed again (what, only 4 days later) after a great run on the treadmill last night. I definitely don’t need to drink wine, or drive on a windy road, for a really long time, but it was worth it!

We attended Hopland Passport – for $35 we had access to about 11 or 12 wineries (a few that aren’t on this map), plus tons of food, great music and a raffle. There was a great selection of tri tip, cheese, sausage, fruit, desserts, etc. Yum! Highlights included almond champagne, bbq sauce, and cute dogs in a barn! Luckily there were no drunken wine club sign-ups, though it was a close call – the one we were most interested in didn’t have one! Whew!

hopland-passport

mendo-and-photog-class-101
I have the monkey ear! Don’t you hate that?

mendo-and-photog-class-102
Organic winery

mendo-and-photog-class-108
Moose ears. Just trying to blend in! I don’t know, it seemed like a good idea at the time.

All in all a great time! Special thanks to my Mom for being the DD and a fabulous host!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Wine Flu

  1. Wine flu how funny!! I would love to escape for a weekend! It looks like a great time. Hope you are feeling better.

  2. We have not travelled beyond Napa for wine tasting but I’m intrigued by the Hopland area. I just have to convince my husband to be the designated driver. The road was really windy you say, huh? Have you tried the wineries in Santa Cruz Mountains (also has very windy roads) or Livermore? One of the great things about living in our area is that there are so many accessible vineyards.

  3. Looks like it was fun!

  4. janeterin

    It was very fun, and I am feeling better!

    Scoop/Linda – actually getting to Hopland is totally a straight-shot! The windy part came later, when we headed to my Mom’s house in Little River, out on the coast. It’s actually not a bad drive at all – took us about an hour and a half from the City. I haven’t tried anywhere but Napa, Sonoma and Mendo but def. want to check out the other places you mentioned! We are so lucky to live so close to so many wineries!

  5. looks like such a fun trip! ps thanks for your comments this week!! hope you had a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

