It’s the Little Things

I’ve said this before, but going green doesn’t always require big changes. Here are some little things that I did, or that happened to me this week!

* My eye doc (ha, I originally said orthodontist – I went to both yesterday!) switched me from 2-week disposable lenses to monthly ones. At first I wasn’t sure about the change, because I’ll have to get used to a new routine, but then I realized I’d be saving plastic! I *hate* the wastefulness of contact lenses – the containers they come in, the plastic tubs of solution, etc. But since I can’t afford LASIK right now (I looked into it and it’s not an option), I can at least save a little plastic.

* I remembered to bring my own Tupperware for leftovers! I went out for Thai last night, courtesy of my friend’s expense account (thanks, Amy!) and ran out to my car to get the Tupperware (ok, GladWare) I’d brought my lunch in. It just had fruit in it earlier, so it wasn’t really dirty. 🙂 The lady at the restaurant thought it was really cool that I brought my own!

* After dinner, my friend and I went for frozen yogurt, and I pulled my compostable spoon out of my purse! I try to bring “real” silverware most of the time, but had forgotten that day and used one of the biodegradable, corn starch ones we keep at work for lunch. They’re made in China, so I’d still prefer to use real silverware, but when I do have to use them, I try to get as many uses as possible! I’ve even run them through the dishwasher, and they hold up for several uses! I have to do a post about what happens when they get warm, though! Too funny.

img_4049

Just a reminder that the small things do add up! What little changes did you make today?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “It’s the Little Things

  1. I love the BYO takeout-container idea!

    I can’t think of any little change I’ve made today, but I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how I’ve developed some “un-green” habits and I’m going to work this weekend on setting up a plan to eliminate them.

  2. I love this post! I agree that it’s the little things that count. I always try to reuse everything. It saves money and the environment. You should check out this great article on “Thinking Green.” Go to-

    http://www.innerrewards.com/topics/balanced-home/articles/ir-thinking-green-125

  3. I used your Gladware today- does that count? 😉 Actually, let’s see- I reused several backs of envelopes today when making to-do lists. Got that idea from an earlier blog of yours!

  4. janeterin

    Thanks, Laura! No, you guys rock! 🙂

    Hallie, I can’t wait to hear about your plan! That’s awesome you are taking the time to do that. 🙂

    Jaime, that totally counts – and yay for reusing envelopes!

Leave a Reply

