Toothpaste Follow-Up

A little while back, I posted about my trouble finding a natural toothpaste that didn’t taste terrible. I think Tom’s of Maine is gross, and I wasn’t ready to go as far as brushing with castile soap, yikes! The problem is, most of the natural toothpastes I’ve found at health food stores are not ADA-approved, I think because they don’t have fluoride. Since I have braces, I need to be extra careful with my teeth, so I kept looking at all the options and going home empty-handed.

I finally picked up a tube of The Natural Dentist in Peppermint Twist at Whole Foods, and am liking it so far! Things I like: it’s made in the USA, it doesn’t come in a box (check out the stats – toothpaste in boxes contributes more than 28 million pounds of packaging to the waste stream, yikes!), they print with soy ink and their products are cruelty-free. The company also believes in sustainable agriculture. They use no alcohol, petroleum byproducts, or artificial dyes, sweeteners or flavors. Check out their site for a description of What is Natural and their FAQS about specific ingredients. They even have a kids sparkle toothpaste with naturally-occurring mica! Per the company website, Fluoride is the only cavity-prevention ingredient recognized by both the American Dental Association and the FDA. So for now, especially with my braces, I’m sticking with it.

toothpaste2

My only complaint would be that it isn’t super, super minty, which I am used to after years of using artificially-sweetened (blech) toothpaste. But I think I’ll get used to it, and it has a pleasant taste, nothing like other ones I’ve tried!

You can find out where to buy their products here and get a $2 off coupon on their site!

8 Comments

Filed under Product Reviews, Uncategorized

8 responses to “Toothpaste Follow-Up

  1. I’ll have to look for that. Isn’t interesting/sad the sheer waste we create? Another thing I find sad is that some factory workers spend there days making stuff we just throw out! Wasted life.

  2. Hello!

    Thanks for your posting about our products – I’m glad to know you’re liking the toothpaste. We also have an effective line of mouth rinses (both with and without fluoride) that help to keep your mouth and teeth healthy.

    We love to hear from our consumers – anyone interested in finding out more about our products can visit the website (www.thenaturaldentist.com) or email me directly.

    Thanks again for trying our products and letting everyone know what you think!

    Susan
    The Natural Dentist
    info@thenaturaldentist.com

  3. This sounds great! I hate when natural products are gross AND expensive- it makes it so tough to go for them! Interesting about the toothpaste boxes. I’ve never even thought of it. Thanks for the review!

  4. janeterin

    Hope you guys like it – I know I was excited to find it!

    Susan, I’m glad you found my blog! Thanks for the great product!

  5. just in case you can’t get to WF, TJ’s has a natural toothpaste with fluoride. while i’ve used tom’s of maine w/o fluoride on and off, i’ve had a few cavities over the past five years (none right now!) and feel like the fluoride is a good thing for my situation. the TJ’s toothpaste *does* come in an unnecessary box though – so maybe i’ll check out this new brand next time! thanks for the tip!

  6. janeterin

    Totally – that’s a good idea to check out, too! I’m definitely excited about this new, boxless find and hope other people can find it in their local stores!

  7. Pingback: Pretty Green Giveaway: The Natural Dentist « pretty green girl

  8. Pingback: Naturally Affordable « pretty green girl

Leave a Reply

