That’s Hot (Fudge)

A few weekends ago, it was my turn to host book club. Usually whenever I have parties, everyone brings an appetizer, and I am left with a ton of food. Not necessarily a bad thing, but I thought this time if would be fun to make ice cream sundaes! I’d been wanting to make this hot fudge sauce from Smitten Kitchen for awhile, and it was the perfect opportunity! I actually have an ice cream maker, and was going to make my own, but the top broke awhile back and I haven’t gotten around to replacing it (I am on the search for a used one from Craigslist or a thrift shop). So I picked up Double Rainbow, a great locally made ice cream.

img_3565

I pretty much followed Smitten Kitchen’s recipe exactly, except that I used vanilla extract instead of rum.

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate (I used Ghirardelli!)
3 tablespoons butter, unsalted
2/3 cup water
1/3 cup sugar
6 tablespoons corn syrup
Pinch of salt
1 tablespoon rum vanilla extract

From Smitten Kitchen Melt the chocolate and butter very slowly in a double boiler or in the microwave, stirring frequently until combined. Meanwhile, heat the water to boiling in the small, heavy saucepan. When the butter and chocolate have melted, stir the mixture into the boiling water. Add the sugar, corn syrup and salt and mix until smooth. Turn the heat up and stir until mixture starts to boil; adjust heat so that sauce is just maintained at the boiling point, stirring occasionally. Allow sauce to boil for nine minutes. Remove from heat and cool for 15 minutes. Stir in the rum and serve warm over ice cream.

I actually made it a little too early and had to reheat it when my friends got there, but it was absolutely fantastic. For some reason as it cooled, the butter would separate out, but when I reheated and whisked, all was back to normal. This was also fantastic cold, almost like a really, really, really fudgy brownie.

I also made homemade whipped cream, which is super easy if you have a mixer. I just put it in my Kitchen Aid and mixed it up until it was light and fluffy, then added vanilla and powdered sugar to taste. YUM!

img_3570

Also, I wrote down our book club discussion questions on the inside of a cereal box! Why waste it – just turn it inside out and voila! Instant scratch paper!

img_3572

8 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized

8 responses to “That’s Hot (Fudge)

  1. I can vouch for the whipped cream. I tried it and it was amazing. Great tip about the cereal box- I never would have thought of that!

  2. That’s an awesome idea about the cereal box – I am going to go dig out some cereal and cracker boxes out of the trash now.

  3. Jaime

    Janet, you are killing me! Ice cream sundaes AND book club? That’s too much awesome in one room πŸ˜‰ I am fairly well obsessed with ice cream lately and that looks just amazing.

  4. janeterin

    Aww thanks, jaime! πŸ˜‰ I might need to make some again soon. πŸ™‚ Did you know my sister doesn’t like whipped cream? I mean WHO doesn’t like whipped cream? πŸ˜‰

    Sweet, Heather! It makes for very good, sturdy scrap paper. I could see it being good for some kind of art project or something, too. Now only if I were crafty. πŸ™‚

    and Jaime with a capital J (hehe, this could get confusing otherwise, I’ll have to call you guys jaime and Jaime or something!) – I’ll make you some when I see you – deal? πŸ˜‰

  5. janeterin

    Holy cow – think I need to lay off on the smilies, guys? Heh.

  6. Chris

    I shouldn’t read this when I’m hungry.

  7. i want to join your book club πŸ™‚ it sounds like the most delicious one ever!

    and i’m a smiley face addict, too, haha. it’s so much more obvious when they get converted to the actually yellow faces!

  8. Pingback: Tree Hugger: Homemade Coloring Books « pretty green girl

Leave a Reply

