Pretty Green Tip: Keep Your Carrots Fresh!

I often get a bunch of organic carrots from my CSA, or pick them up at a Farmer’s Market. The problem is, they don’t last very long! Whether I keep them in the fridge or on the counter, a day or two later they’re always shrunken and rubbery. Ewww. But I remembered that when I was a kid, my mom would put out carrots sticks in the middle of the table at meals, standing upright in a cup with an inch or two of water at the bottom. Using this as my inspiration, I’ve started peeling carrots right when I get them home, and putting them in a jar with a bit of water at the bottom. This works great – they’re fresh in the fridge for days, even weeks. If you’re planning to keep them a long time, change or add more water every once in awhile.

img_3627

My sister says you can actually just stick the whole bunch of unpeeled carrots in water. I haven’t tried that yet, and like the convenience of having peeled and trimmed carrots ready to go when I want one. But you actually don’t really need to peel carrots – sometimes I don’t (I just trim the tops!), but this batch was extra dirty!

10 Comments

Filed under Pretty Green Tip of the Day

10 responses to “Pretty Green Tip: Keep Your Carrots Fresh!

  1. Thanks for the tip! I’ve been getting tasty carrots in my CSA (FFTY – I’m another SF’er) and always feel like I need to eat them all the very day after my CSA arrives – or cook them. I’ll definitely try out the water method! Thanks to you & your family 🙂

  2. ally

    Thanks so much for the tip- all of your tips:) Im also in SF!
    Have a great day!

  3. janeterin

    Thanks, you guys! I’m so glad you like the tip(s)!

  4. oooh, i’ve never heard that tip! thanks 🙂

  5. Ya know if you just trim the tops of they won’t shrivel up. The tops seem to dry them up. I do like the peeled and ready to eat idea though! Nice post as always! 🙂 Love your blog!

  6. janeterin

    Oh, that is so good to know, Laura! I never knew that! Next time I don’t feel like trimmin’ and peelin’ all in advance I will totally try that trick. Thanks!

    (And thanks for the “blogliment,” hehe. Right back atcha!)

  7. I am so trying that ASAP. I got some carrots from my CSA too, and they are so good that if I get so sad when they start to go bad before I eat them. Another tip I like to use is that when vegetables like carrots/bell peppers start going a little soft, they’re still perfectly fine to roast. We know how great roasted veggies are, and this way they don’t go to waste 🙂

  8. janeterin

    Ooh good idea! I’ll totally try that when my veggies are pushing the limit. 😀 Roasted veggies are the best!

  9. good tip! for longer term storage, re-burying your carrots in some soil is supposed to work well. my boyfriends parents keep all their carrots and potatoes in big containers of earth on the farm throughout the winter.

  10. Pingback: 8 Things « pretty green girl

Leave a Reply

