I Heart Whole Foods

I just went for a fun lunch at Whole Foods with my friends from the gym, and saw that they started using reusable bowls for salads. Yay! No more wasting a container, even if it is compostable.

Here’s my yummy, GIANT salad. I felt very Kath-like.
Lettuce, baby greens
Radishes
Corn
Black rice (?) and cashews
Beets
Beet & carrot salad
Red onions
Kale & red onion salad
Blue cheese & Cheddar
Sprinkle of pumpkin seeds
3 candied walnuts
Artichoke hearts (I forgot I don’t really like these marinated!)
Roasted tomatoes
Hummus
Mango/chickpea salad
1 piece of kung pao tofu salad
A few grapes and a blueberry (boo – wasn’t thinking. These are probably from Chile. Bad green girl!)
Side of balsamic – boo for plastic! I should have just drizzled a little over the top. Next time!

img_34982

And then I added my own Wildwood super firm tofu that I sauteed this morning at home. I figured it was heavy, and I had it at home anyway, so I might as well bring it myself and save some cash. This giant salad only cost $6.71!

img_3501
Things I would change: bring my own fork (I need to figure out an easy way to keep a real fork clean in my purse). I appreciate the fact that they use compostable ones (and provide a compost bin, in addition to recycling & trash) but it’s still more wasteful than bringing your own! I’d also drizzle the salad dressing over the top and skip the fruit.

But, this was a fun, nutritious and relatively eco-friendly way to spend lunch! I usually bring my own, but it was fun to catch up with my friends and check out cute boys at Whole Foods. πŸ˜‰

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “I Heart Whole Foods

  1. what about keeping silverware in one of those roll-up jewelry cases???

    thanks for the luck!!

  2. janeterin

    Ooh, that’s a great idea! Smart thinking! I’m definitely gonna be on the lookout for one of those. πŸ™‚

    Good luck tomorrow!

  3. laura

    You could carry a fork in your purse if you put it in a travel toothpaste container!

  4. janeterin

    That’s another great idea – thanks Laura! Love getting tips from you guys!

  5. and what a brilliant idea to bring your own tofu!!! the wf salads look amazing but always end up costing SO much. i can’t budget it in. but maybe i will cart along my own protein and go wild πŸ™‚

  6. janeterin

    Thanks, Sarah! I figured I had a ton – why not use it and save money! Yeah, proteins are always so heavy, but they always have so much fun at salad bars so it’s a good way to keep costs down and go crazy on toppings that don’t weigh a lot!

    Glad you guys are stopping by!

  7. Michael Anthony

    Hi Sara!

    I was doing some research, and stumbled across your blog. I’m a graphic artist for Whole Foods Market, and also A Green Mission Representative in the South Florida region. I would like to know which store uses the reusable bowls, because that would be great if we got rid of our current cartons!

    Thanks very much.

  8. janeterin

    Hi Michael,

    I’m actually Janet, hehe. Thanks for stopping by! The Whole Foods I was at is in San Mateo, CA. Here’s the info! http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/stores/sanmateo/

    That would be terrific if you guys followed suit and did the same. That really makes me happy! Let me know if I can help with anything else.

  9. Michael Anthony

    Thank you so much for the quick response (Janet). Your blog totally rocks, I’m subscribing! πŸ˜€

    I’ll be contacting that Whole Foods tomorrow :-D.

  10. janeterin

    Of course, happy to help! Thanks so much for the compliment. πŸ™‚

    Please let me know if there’s anything else I can do to help. Wow, I actually feel like maybe I kind of made a difference. How cool!

Leave a Reply

