What I’m Cooking Today: Local Exotic

A few weeks ago, I picked up a pack of Certified Humane beef at Prather Ranch in the Ferry Building. I wasn’t ready to use it right away, so I threw it in the freezer and brought it out this week. I don’t normally eat a lot of red meat, but enjoy high quality, ethically-raised beef from time to time. I bought almost a pound, though, which poses a bit of a problem – I had to eat it all! I hate to waste any food, but especially meat – if an animal died to feed me, I definitely want to eat it! I suppose I could have frozen it in individual batches, but I didn’t think that far ahead. So it was time to get creative! I made a burger with shallots, and topped with sauteed organic mushrooms, avocado (from my CSA) and organic ketchup yesterday, but today I wanted something different.

I hate to admit it, but when I’m looking for an easy recipe without too many complicated ingredients, I turn to Rachael Ray. I know, I know. She annoys me on TV, but she does have some good, easy and nutritious recipes. I searched for ground beef on her magazine website, and came up with this recipe for Moroccan Beef Patties. I’m a big fan of meat and cinnamon – I’m dying to try this bastilla recipe my friend Kim posted a few weeks back. I adjusted the recipe a bit – I had only about 3 1/2 ounces of meat left (I also made a meat sauce to save for later this week), so I adjusted down the spices, cut out the olive oil, and it made only 2 patties. On the side, I made whole wheat couscous with toasted almonds (toasted on the stovetop – it was 1-2 minutes on the stove vs. 10-15 in the oven, an easy decision to save energy) and roasted cauliflower. If I had been thinking ahead, I would have toasted the almonds while I roasted the cauliflower, but I did the veggies a few hours early. I mixed the couscous it with a dressing of wild mountain honey, white balsamic vinegar, local (yay!) olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper. YUM! The patties were great and the couscous was awesome. I would have loved to throw in some parsley or mint, but I didn’t have any on hand. The plate definitely lacks some color, and my photography skills leave something to be desired (I’m thinking about taking a class), but it was a great meal!

Local olive oil!
img_34361

Check out that steam!
img_34441

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What I’m Cooking Today: Local Exotic

  1. jaime

    Love that you drink your water out of a wine glass. Tres chic! Sounds delicious and nutritious- and I agree, Rachael Ray CAN be annoying, but definitely has her good points.

  2. janeterin

    Heh, yeah I was feelin’ fancy! I usually save it for bubbly water, but I didn’t have any.

    Yeah, RR is much better in print! 😉

Leave a Reply

