What I’m Cooking Today

I have tons of veggies right now from my CSA, so last night I decided to use up my cauliflower. I never was a big fan of the vegetable (though broccoli is my favorite food) until I discovered roasting it. So good – it really changes flavor in the oven, getting all toasty and caramelized and burnt in places. I searched one of my favorite cooking blogs, 101 Cookbooks, and found a delicious looking recipe for Roasted Cauliflower “Popcorn.” Yum! I used panko and crushed red chile pepper instead of fresh, but it was still great.

Adapted from 101 Cookbooks

~10 g panko
1 medium head of cauliflower, washed
2 tsp olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt (I added more, but I looove salt)
2 cloves garlic, minced
Crushed chili pepper (to your liking)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Cut cauliflower into small pieces.

Toss the cauliflower with olive oil and salt in a bowl until cauliflower is coated, then place it in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet. Try to spread the pieces out so they aren’t touching. Put in oven for 15ish minutes, until tender when poked with a fork.

Meanwhile, use the leftover olive oil in the bottom of the bowl you used to toss the cauliflower and add the bread crumbs, garlic, and chile pepper. Mix.

Pull the pan out of the oven after the 15 or so minutes are up and flip each piece of cauliflower over, then sprinkle the entire pan with the breadcrumb mixture. Return the pan to the oven for another ten minutes or so. The cauliflower should be browned in spots, tender and crispy.

As my main side dish, with scallops sauteed in garlic, and sliced heirloom tomatoes with sea salt, it was great!

On tonight’s menu: I’m thinking eggplant szechuan. I’ve got an eggplant from last week’s San Rafael Farmers Market, as well as a bunch of zucchinis, onions and broccoli to use up! I also have some “super firm” tofu and half a Fulton Valley chicken breast. Details to come

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, what i'm cooking today

Leave a Reply

